Malcolm Stewart, President       MStewart1

Malcolm is in private practice at Thrive Psychology in Auckland. He has worked in physical and mental health services and was formerly the Professional Leader – Psychology at Counties Manukau DHB, a Senior Lecturer at the University of Auckland School of Medical and Health Sciences, and a Behavioural Scientist at the Centres of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in the USA. He is a Fellow of the NZCCP and has formerly held roles including Chair of the Ethics Committee, National Treasurer, and Chair of the Auckland Branch. He completed a PhD and PGDipClinPsych at the University of Otago. He has received a Ministry of Health/Like Minds Like Mine Respect Award and the John Bushnell Medal for Leadership in Clinical Psychology.  

Kris Garstang, Vice President    Kris  

Kris Garstang divides her time between managing the residential dialectical Behaviour Therapy  programme for Te Whare Mahana Trust in Takaka and her private practice in Nelson. She is a fellow of the College and is a past chair of the Nelson branch. Prior to setting up her private practice she worked for the Nelson Marlborough District Health Board at adult outpatient services and the acute admissions unit. Kris graduated from the Victoria University clinical programme in 1999.

Tricia Stuart, Treasurer      


Elena Moran, Chair Board of Membership and Professional Standards (BOMPS)

Tawhiti Kunaiti, Te Pou Whakarae     Tawhiti

Tawhiti descends from a number of tribal nations in New Zealand, in particular, Ngāti Raukawa, Rangitāne, Ngāti Kahungunu, and Ngāti Kuia.  Married for 17 years, his wife is of Cook Island, Tahitian, Dutch, Māori descent and together they have two grown children.  Tawhiti is a registered graduate of the New Zealand Institute of Management, and is the Pou Whakarae – Prinicipal Cultural Leader for the New Zealand College of Clinical Psychologists.  He has worked in Public Health and Sexual Health, and is a former member of the MidCentral District Health Board (MDHB) Healthy Communities Advisory Committee, MDHB Disability Support Advisory Committee and National Māori Sexual & Reproductive Health Committee.  Tawhiti also has a Māori Education background having worked in total immersion Māori language settings as an early childhood, primary and tertiary educator, further to being a past researcher at Massey University for the ‘Toi Te Kupu’ Māori Language initiative.  Tawhiti is presently employed as the Pou Whakarae – Principal Cultural Leader for both the Central Primary Health Organisation and the Te Tihi Whānau Ora Alliance where he sits as a member of the Senior Leadership Group.  He is a current recipient of Te Rau Puawai Māori Mental Health Scholarship.


EileenEileen Britt (University Liaison)         

Eileen is a Fellow of the NZCCP and has been a member of the College since its inception.  She has been involved in College matters at local and national level over this time. Eileen completed her PG Diploma in Clinical Psychology at the University of Waikato in 1986, and since then has worked in mental health, health, criminal justice, research and university settings. She is currently Associate Professor with the Post-Graduate Diploma in Clinical Psychology programme at the University of Canterbury.

Caroline Greig (Executive Director)     Caroline

Caroline was employed as the Executive Director for NZCCP when the Council moved to its permanent office in Wellington. She is the first port of call for members and the public and is available Monday to Friday 8.30am to 6.00pm. Her contact details are listed at the bottom of this page.